Special Post: My First Half Marathon Training Plan!

How I came to enjoy running…

 Last year my boyfriend, Dan, bought me a bodybugg.  It was an awesome gift.  And it armed me with some valuable knowledge, at the time I was starting to get bored with my workout routine (which included TONS and TONS of spinning and teaching 3 classes a week) and wearing it taught me that I had become so efficient at my routine I was no longer burning tons of calories doing it.  An hour spin class only equaled about 300 calories.  Thus I tried out other things and this is how I learned running for me was burning a lot more calories in less time.  And I took up running a few times a week.  In doing so I learned that I hated running for a given period of time, but if I had a route with a finish I actually enjoyed doing it.

 Why I decided to do a half marathon…

 It was always on my bucket list to do a marathon but I just never thought I could give up every weekend to training.  However, around the time I started to enjoy running, I also started reading healthy lifestyle blogs.  Most of the girls on the blogs ran and did races and really inspired me.  I thought starting with a full marathon may be daunting so the half would be my best bet.  I also wanted to find one that was at a good time of year where I wouldn’t be training in the sweltering heat or in the snow.  That’s when I stumbled upon the ODDyssey Half Marathon in Philadelphia (right by my house). It is May 22 which is right before memorial day and I would be training in March, April, and May which are generally pretty temperate months (fingers crossed). It was perfect so I pulled the trigger and signed up.  Now I am committed.

 My training plan…

 The plan I created is based of Hal Higdon’s half marathon Novice plan.  Because I didn’t want to give the 2 classes I teach a week I formed the plan around them.  Also, I am trying to be flexible and my goal is to just complete the mileage every week but if I need to do it on different days due to conflicts I will.  Here is the plan:

The plan starts on Monday, February 28 and ends on race day, Sunday, May 22.

Week Mon Tues Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun Total
1 3 m run spin kb 3 m run 2 m run 4 m run rest 10
2 3 m run spin kb 3 m run 2 m run 4 m run rest 10
3 3.5 m run spin kb 3.5 m run 2 m run 5 m run rest 14
4 3.5 m run spin kb 3.5 m run 2 m run 5 m run rest 14
5 4 m run spin kb 4 m run 2 m run 6 m run rest 16
6 4 m run spin kb 4 m run 2 m run 5-K Race rest 13.2
7 4.5 m run spin kb 4.5 m run 3 m run 7 m run rest 19
8 4.5 m run spin kb 4.5 m run 3 m run 8 m run rest 20
9 5 m run spin kb 5 m run 3 m run 10-K Race rest 19
10 5 m run spin kb 5 m run 3 m run 9 m run rest 22
11 5 m run spin kb 5 m run 3 m run 10 m run rest 23
12 4 m run spin kb 2 m run 3 m run rest Half Marathon 24

 So that is my commitment for the next 12 weeks. I definitely see a lot less drinking in my future since I cannot work out if I have been drinking. Just doesn’t work for me. The good part is when i finish, the next weekend it is officially summer and I will have worked out a ton and hopefully feel good in my bathing suit.

I will be posting more about the training as I go along but this will give you a good idea of what my workouts will look like for the next 3 months.

Leave a Reply

