spin rant…

Morning Fitness: actually woke up early this morning (5:10am) and went to a cycle class at the gym. Unfortunately it was a Johnny G trained instructor (I have this certification also, ironically, but don’t believe in following it exactly). You can tell when you’ve gone to one of these instructors because the class will have a focus of intervals, endurance, or hills and they might talk about your cadence or rpm. Anyway the classes are boring. The teacher today was doing an endurance class and he basically just had us ride out of the saddle 3 times for 20 minutes at a time. It was ridiculously boring!

Here comes my rant… I see the point of the Johnny G method if you are spinning everyday or if you have a gym dedicated to cyclists and spinners. However at the average run of the mill gym people are doing all kinds of things. I doubt many people are taking spin everyday and if they are it is very easy in a cycle class to fit it to whatever it is your workout routine is calling for that day (I.e. if its a hard die turn up the resistance). The beauty of spinning is it is so customizable no need to make it a dedicated endurance class. Thus it is pointless to follow the Johnny G method when people are really just looking for a fun workout– mix it up, make it fun, and people can motivate themselves to make it as hard or easy as they want. The end.

Anyway, the workout was boring but it worked for me today. The lame “endurance drills”, if you can call just telling people to ride for 20 mins straight a drill, worked for me because my legs were so sore they were getting easily tuckered out and raising my heart rate. I guess it worked out but I will try to avoid that teacher in the future may only give him another chance to redeem himself.

While getting ready for work I had some instant coffee. Not as good as the starbucks via.


Breakfast was a quick grab since I wanted to get to work on time and thus leave on time. I grabbed my last slices of cinnamon raisin sprouted bread and i put a tbsp of pb and a tbsp of fluff into a plastic baggy (not ideal btw). I toasted the bread and waaa-laaa cinnamon raisin fluffernutter. I have thought of so many vehicles to consume fluff and pb these days. And sorry, still not sick of it. Sugary peanut buttery goodness.


Morning snack was an apple.


Lunch was reworked leftovers from Jae’s thursday night dinner.

  • Moroccan spiced pork
  • hot and honey mustard
  • on half a piece of whole wheat naan
  • side of butter snaps (one serving at 120 calories)

I also had a chocolate covered strawberry that a coworker had gotten for her birthday. and (the moooore you knoooow) it was 50 calories- someone looked it up. not me, I swear.


Afternoon snack was a Samoa Cookie fiber plus caramel, coconut, fudge bar. Still in love.


Before meeting my roommate for happy hour I decided to eat light because i anticipated eating again after boozing. I had a bowl of cereal with grapeNuts and fiber plus cinnamon thingys. The ,ox was a good one.


I also had a rice crispy treat.


We went to Drinkers in rittenhouse and drank some delicious pitchers of blue moon. Then my friend pat though it would be a good idea to get 10 hotdogs and 10 tacos. I think I had like 7 tacos. Sick, sick display, but delicious none the less. Unfortunately or maybe fortunately… I was three sheets to the wind at this point and stopped shooting photos

2 Responses to spin rant…

  1. Courtney says:

    Not to sound corny, but as I go to spinning classes at 24 Hour Fitness I still feel that you were the best instructor I’ve had. I can’t stand when the teacher does one setting for an entire song. I pretty much just stare at the clock the whole time counting down the 60 minutes. I haven’t been back in months. CrossFit is definitely kicking lame spinning classes’ butt at this point.

Leave a Reply

