Sweet Po-tots

Breakfast: everything bagel thin lightly toasted with hearty tbsp of naturally nutty choc cherry pb.

Morning Snack: orange and cocoa dusted almonds (surprise!)

Lunch: Lean Cuisine Chicken Enchilada Suiza

Out of microwave:

All mixed up with Goya:

Tried to take a pic of the filling because although I like this meal, the inside is weird minced chicken. They really need to put grilled chicken in this or something- whole chunks not minced. That is all.

Afternoon snack: 10 more almonds (no pic)

Pre workout snack: vita top wrapped up in the scarf I didn’t take off all day at work (except for the pic ha) because it is so cold in my office.

Fitness: I wanted to get to bed early today so I decided to do a workout at home- that much closer to my bed. I was also determined to get in 1.5 hours of cardio. I turned to the comcast on-demand library for help.
-100 pushup W4 D1
-couple mins of a Kendall Hogan cardio blast thing that promised intense cardio intervals with minimal breaks. I turned if off when I realized he was just walking in place the whole time.
-18 mins Jillian Michaels Banish Fat Boost Metabolism. I didn’t like this one either. The moves were really easy and it was not easy to make them harder.
-2x 10 mins Biggest Loser Last Chance Workout. This was led by a girl from the biggest loser and was actually hard. It was 10 where not only did you not stop moving the entire time, you did high intensity bursts. Awesome because there weren’t really any recoveries. I did this twice.
-40 mins Jillian Michaels 6 Week 6 Pack. Still like this workout, more so in combination with other cardio stuff. However, the more I do it the easier it gets. I guess that’s a good sign but I don’t want it to be easy!
Total: one hour and 18 mins. Not quite 1.5 hours if cardio but I’ll take it.

For dinner I wanted to use a sweet potato I had bought last week and since I was at home working out I had time to wait for it to cook workout while it baked. I didn’t know what to do with this and since I was already at home, I challenged myself to use in house items for the meal. that’s why this was born…

Sweet Potato Disc Nachos

-one sweet potato cut into discs
-1/2 c fat free refried beans (it was what I had, black beans would have worked as well)
-1/2 c fat free shredded cheese (I “borrowed” from a roommate who had part-skim mozzarella.. Thanks, unknown roomie!)
-salsa (also borrowed. Sorry!)

1. I washed the sweet potato and cut it into discs. I discovered the easiest way to do this is to cut it in half and then put the flat edge down and slice from there (provides stability/ makes cutting even discs easier).
2. I sprayed aluminum foil with cooking spray and topped with discs. Then I sprayed the discs.
3. Bake at 450 degrees for about 15 mins each side (there should be brown spots).
4. Microwave refried beans and desired spices (I used the jalapeño mustard Sam had sent me earlier in the week. Random, but it worked. Any hot sauce will do if you want heat).
5. Pour beans onto the cooked potatoes and top with cheese.
6. Broil until the cheese is melted.
7. Top with salsa.

This turned out awesome! I will definitely make this again. It was very easy and so flavorful. Also a nice, healthy (and vegetarian… For those of you who are into that) way to eat nachos. I had the last of my salad bag with a little bit of FF thousand island dressing on the side.

Dessert: 3 gummy fish

Alright, tying to get to bed by 9:45 tonight. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

