Faux spaghetti

Since I got in to work so early yesterday because no one is on the road these days, I let myself sleep and extra half hour. I still made it in on time. Love the lack of traffic!

I really wanted oats for breakfast but I had no banana to whip in to make them creamy so I did a 180 and toasted a pumpkin vita top ad made grits instead.


Morning snack was this reserved pomegranate greek yogurt from TJ’s. This was so good! 110 calories, thick and creamy. definitely need to buy again.


For lunch I had a Smart Ones Pasta with Ricotta and Spinach.


This was the first time I’ve ever had this and it was amazing! lots of cheesy sauce, lots of spinach, creamy ricotta. I kicked it up with a little salt and crushed red pepper. My only qualm was the calories were a little low (about 260) could have used some protein in there. I added this side of mini airplane pretzels I had in my desk (50 cals) to bulk it up.


At lunch I went out and got a pedicure since no one was around. She rubbed my shins a lot which felt awesome and then rubbed smooth, hot, oiled up stones on my legs which felt great. of course I later found that a few toes were ruined either by my spin shoes or just my regular shoes (reason #100973 why you should live in a climate where you can always wear flops).

(secret photo… You’re welcome)

Afternoon snack was some gingersnappsh tea and 18 cocoa roasted almonds.. I weighed them out they were about 2/3 of an oz so between 100-150 calories. Missed getting a photo because I was too busy weighing. Oops.

Vita Preworkout


Fitness: I had a hard time deciding what workout I wanted to do today. I decided on rowing class since I haven’t been in a while but right before I left I realized that because of the holiday i risked it being dead and just being a class of me and the instructor. In a quick turn of events, I decided to take a spin class. However when I got there no instructor showed up so I ended up teaching it (been happening often to me i guess). Even though I wasn’t in the teaching mind set I got into it and the class flew by. I love getting paid to do something I would be doing anyway!

Special dinner… I have been dying to try spaghetti squash recently so I checked at the Acme by my gym and they had it! A big one! I snacked on a tbsp TJ’s cilantro jalapeño hummus and butter snaps while making.


1. I started by halving the squash. This was tough it took a lot of muscle to cut through the uncooked skin.


2. Put half in a bowl and microwaved for 12 minutes until it was soft.
3. Scooped out top seeds and strands and threw away.
4. Using a fork scooped out the innards. This is when it started looking like spaghetti.


5. Top with sauce and eat.


I decided to make my own sauce flavor today… Not sure why. I used crushed tomatoes, and added crushed red, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, mrs dash Italian medley, oregano, and capers withe the juice. It turned out spicy and caper-y. I loved it.


I paired my meal with 5 perdue turkey meatballs that I heated in the oven while the squash was using the microwave (what I normally would have used).


The squash was an awesome spaghetti substitute. It was very filling, good texture… I will definitely make again!

I had the last of a salad bag with a tbsp of the hummus and some balsamic vinegar for some green and as another way to eat more hummus.


So nice to have off tomorrow! I mustered up energy to sweep my room but not enough to put everything away but I have a load of laundry in. Now I’m watching Nova play Temple in my sweats. Gonna go to bed early because I have big plans of gym and pampering tomorrow. :)

Dessert… I cant stop eating dessert these days! It’s getting out of hand! I broke into my gift from my brother Shawn… 72 chocolate covered cherries. It was a thoughtful gift remembering my childhood love for these but I need to get them out of the house so I don’t wake up and they are all gone one day and I’ve eaten 4,000 calories of chocolate and cherries. Anyway I had one and it was deliciously goupy but not sweet. Not as good as I remember. I think I might prefer the cream kind now because of my love of icing. I did enjoy it though, brought me back.


Alright, let’s go nova!

Leave a Reply

