Back home to the snow

Well I’m back in Philly. I was greeted by lots of snow :(.

Similar to this but not quite as bad (pic from last terrible winter storm). Actually i am being dramatic and thats e only snowy pic i have on hand :) this storm was nowhere near as bad but I hate snow unless I don’t have to be anywhere until it melts or I’m skiing.

Dan and I arrived at the Philly airport only 10 mins late and had to wait to get off for about 30 mins. Unpleasant but could have been worse. In an event of quick thinking we had the cab driver drop Dan at 30th st station to train it home and then drop me in snowy Manayunk. I was not happy to see the very icy streets and the fully snow covered steps leading to my house. I dropped my stuff off and was determined to get rid of the snow so i didn’t have to deal with it before work in the morning. I put on my rain boots, found the snow shovel and salt and hit the streets.

Lucky for me the snow was really powdery and did not take too lng to get off the stairs and create a path in front of my house. I then sprinkled salt to make sure there were no slippery patches.

The best part of my night was when I went to my car and there was NO SNOW on it!! God smiled upon me and said you are my most wondrous creation. Also the snow around the tires was minimal and light and fluffy so I am pretty sure I should be fine getting out. Just to be safe a shoveled a bit of it away.

When I was finished shoveling I made dinner with what I had in the house.

Spinach artichoke chicken lean pocket covered in Frank’s Red Hot and a mixed green salad with the last of my sabra Greek olive hummus and some balsamic vinegar.

I got the idea for hummus and balsamic from Gina and it was really good. Since i usually crave hummus and will eat it as a really unnecessary appetizer to my dinners, this is a great way for me to get my hummus fix without inhaling to s of pretzels and other random calories I don’t need.

Leave a Reply

