Turmeric education

Breakfast was a new peanut butter (you’re welcome for not eating oats, Sam)-Naturally nutty chocolate cherry pb. When I opened it up I was delightfully surprised that there were actual dried cherries in it.

-1 tbsp NN chocolate cherry pb
-ww bagel thing toasted

The peanut butter was good but I couldn’t really taste chocolate or cherry. The cherries in it were a nice touch though.

Morning snack banana.

Lunch was healthy choice again. This time cheese tortellini.

This was basically tomato soup with some spinach and a few tortellinis. It only added up to 180 calories so I had a Thomas’ Light English Muffin toasted and spritzed with Olivio butter spray which I then dipped into it.

Afternoon snack was a cut up apple.

Pre workout pb vita top. Speaking of which, so excited to order the new pumpkin spice vita flavor today!

Fitness: taught kick boxing tonight. Nothing special to report back on… My class never gets old for me. The hour goes so fast, I could go for longer.

Dinner escalated quickly. It started with TJ’s microwaveable wild rice… good stats, looked interesting, bad smell when I opened it.

On the stove I poured some frozen mixed vegetables and white beans in a pan coated with butter spray.

In the oven I broiled purdue baked chicken breast 5 minutes each side.

I mixed it all together and split into 3 servings (only 2 have chicken because that was all I had). It turned out a robust size about 430 calories a serving (590 with chicken). Mistake one, should have broken it into four servings if I wanted the chicken. 500 calories is enough for dinner.

Mistake two, I then tried to spice it up by taking about 1/3 of an Oikos non-fat Greek yogurt and mixing it with turmeric, cayenne pepper, and “no salt” salt (sounds weird… It’s low sodium salt).

The idea was good. Definitely needed some type of sauce because the rice still smelled weird, but I went a little heavy handed on the turmeric. Apparently a little goes a long way. I only have turmeric in my cabinet because Dan uses it in his famous (in my mind- i love it!) chili. I probably should have asked him before I poured a heaping amount into the yogurt. It was not good. I ended up eating the crispy baked chicken, which, as always, was awesome. I tried to get through the rice and veg but just couldn’t. It was a big dinner anyway so I guess I’m “eating intuitively” by stoping mid meal? I tried putting some curry powder to tone down the turmeric (did not work), but hence the yellow color of the remnants:

You win some, you lose some I guess. I will probably fear turmeric for a while now. I feel like I can’t make a real decision if I like the rice or not but I will try it tomorrow sans sauce. Thank God I didn’t put sauce over all of it!

Beware of turmeric.

Cleansed the palate with this sliver of Lauren’s birthday pumpkin cake. The icing was so good I knew I had to back away before I scraped the whole cake. Cake was good too but I have a weakness for icing. It’s an unhealthy obsession actually. So they make cakes anywhere there are 90% icing? Dream.

Leave a Reply

