Lauren’s birthday, wooo

I tried to make my oats less boring this morning. Started with this rosey bowl that gave them a rosey glow. Just kidding that just happened.


-1/8 c steel cut
-1/4 c multi grain
-cinnamon, salt, sweet n low
-1/2 banana
-frozen pomegranate seeds on top

Frozen fruit on top makes it tons less boring.


1/2 banana for morning snack.


Fitness: since today is Lauren’s bday I had my spin class subbed for the night and got my gyming done at lunch. Fartlek training. Wikipedia calls it “Fartlek, which means “speed play” in Swedish, is a form of conditioning which puts stress on the whole aerobic energy system due to the continuous nature of the exercise. The difference between this type of training and continuous training is that the intensity or speed of the exercise varies, meaning that aerobic and anaerobic systems can be put under stress.” I did a variation of this but with 10 min warm up and 10 min cool down at 6.5 instead of 6.0.

I’ve only done this workout a handful of times and it’s usually pretty hard. Today I ran it quite easily. I was waiting for it to get hard but it never really did. Probably should have pushed myself a little more. In the end I went about 3.6 miles on 32 mins. Pretty slow but that’s what the workout was set up as.

Ate a soup at my desk for lunch post workout. Healthy choice lentil with goy a in it. It’s just ok. I like the plateful spinach initial but I really prefer Indian preparation of lentils as opposed to soup. Has good stats though and filling and conveniently heats in it’s own container.


Afternoon snacks were cut up pear and 100 calorie bag of popcorn.


I love popcorn and I always want it when people make it in the office which is inevitably at least once a week. However, if I eat it before a workout thats all I taste the entire time. Same deal with hummus, can’t eat it before a workout. Do you have anything like that, that just doesn’t sit well with you while working out?

I ran some errands after work (feeling productive!) and then met Lauren at home to drive to McCormick & Schmick’s in center city where we met Jae to celebrate Lauren’s 28th birthday. We drove past the infamous “Christmas Village”- actually made me was to check it out. Looks amusing.


I started with some wine, bread, and a single chilled shrimp. Delicious. Wish the bread was warm though :(


I was very excited that they had calorie counts on the back of the menu! The menu changes daily so not everything was listed but this gave me a good base. I chose the cedar roasted salmon with Northwest berry sauce. It was on the back (partly why I chose it) and it had 470 calories.


The sauce was really good but I wished there was more of it. Veggies were good too and lightly sauced which was refreshing.


I also had some of the mashed potatoes Jae and Lauren ordered and they tasted really whhhhhipped, buttery, and amazing. had to pry myself away from those.


For desert we shared the upside down apple pie with cinnamon ice cream. It was lacking in the ice cream serving department. Def needed more! The pie was good though. The crust was really mushy, in a good way, and blended into the apples.


Jae got a foamy cup-o-kine-o.


He’s so “cool”. Haha


It was freezing out tonight. Especially annoying we tried to be good and parked not with the valet but in a parking garage down the street. We trudged over there shaking and complaining. At the end of the night they ended up both being $18 grrrrr. Anyway now I am cozy in my bed. Mmmm

One Response to Lauren’s birthday, wooo

  1. margie says:

    You are so creative! Keep up the good work. I love your blog.

Leave a Reply

