Airport Dinner Fail

Woke up this morning out of a deep sleep very confused because it was 7am and my alarm was set for 630am. I still managed to shower, finish packing, and get to work on time! I went to bed at 930pm so I guess i just really needed to rest to get rid of the rest of this illness. I feel pretty good today. I think one more night of sleep and I’ll be 100% and ready to run the 5k tomorrow before feasting on turkey.

For breakfast I stole another of roommate Lauren’s fiber one blueberry muffins. This time I got a pic before digging in. Still delicious warmed up. Braeburn apple on the side. This one was much better than the one last week! Exactly how I like them tart and not gritty.

I’m feeling very christmasy already so this eggnog’n tea hit the spot when I started to get hungry at 1030. Caffeine is a trick I use to curb my hunger at work. Most of the time I am just sitting in my cube thinking about my next meal so keeping my taste buds busy with the appetite suppressing caffeine helps.

At 1130 I had blown right through snack time so I had a few pistachios to tide me over before lunch at noon.

For lunch I was feeling Mexican and so I had the chicken enchilada suiza lean cuisine.

Goya on top. This is always a favorite. Mix the sauce from the enchilada on to the rice and enjoy. Side note: I sometimes like to use 2 hot sauces on this. One super spicy to mix in the enchilada sauce and goya to moisten the rice. I forewent today since my stomach is probably still healing.

Left work at 230 to get to the airport via cab. I tried a new company this time after 2 bad experiences with the local co and they were late too! Annoying. Luckily I had left plenty of time. When I got to the airport it was only about 430 but I was ready for dinner. I checked online and there was supposed to be a burger king that I figured I could get a chicken sandwich at but it was user construction :(. This threw me for a loop! For some reason I got really nervous about stats (this is what not working out does to me. Even more psycho). I perused all my options and didn’t like any of them. I realized I had some time and took a walk to another terminal. A lady had bourbon chicken samples (typical). I took one and their ploy lured me in! But…They had calorie counts on the menu! I saw a cold noodle dish for few calories and the chicken dishes weren’t bad either. When I went up the lady was very pushy. There were no cold noodles and in my already freaking out mode I managed to order steamed rice, spicy chicken and was forced into a 3rd side of veggies but they were swimming in something…. Butter? They weren’t on the cal count list! I immediately threw out half the rice so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat it.

The meal…. was bad. The scoop of spicy chicken and veggies she gave me had about 2 slivers (tiny, thin slivers) of chicken and the rest was just buttery veggies. Lame. Learning my lesson about airport food. Not reliable. Packing my own.

I had a box of raisin snacky snack on the flight.

When I got to Houston (running to the gate because my time between flight was 30mins), my next flight was delayed. Of course after I sprinted through the airport like a crazy person (fitness for the day?) now I had some extra time. I wanted froyo but they only had columbo yogurt which I am not a huge fan of. I got this tall light vanilla frappuccino instead- milk serving for the day!

Now I’m in Phoenix! Colder then I expected.

Ps here is a great giveaway opp! I have been wanting to try coconut butter since I’ve seen in it the blog world. I found it at a small market near Dan’s house in NY but when I was looking at the stats the calorie count seemed pretty high and unnecessary so I didn’t buy it. Now I am having some remorse. I would love to try it! I love coconut! Hopefully I win! You can enter here if you want to be my competition!

Leave a Reply

